Junioritis

“You’re back for the summer right?”

Yes. I have one more year.

“What are you majoring in?”

Communications with a minor in French.

“Oh what do you wanna do with that?”

Well I’m thinking of working in the Public Relations/Marketing field. Maybe Advertising. I also want to do some freelance writing, maybe freelance graphic design, maybe freelance styling. I’m also debating going to graduate school as well.”

That is exactly how almost every conversation in regards to my education goes. Though it may seem like I have somewhat of an idea of what I want to do post-graduation, there are so many things that I wish I could do. I’ve always heard people talking about turning their passion into a paycheck, but how exactly does one do that when they have multiple passions?

Not only is it hard enough not knowing specifically what career path you want to pursue, but when you constantly have people trying to give you a “reality check” it makes things even more stressful. I constantly deal with college graduates always trying to “fix my life” according to their post- graduation experience, regardless of the fact that we studied different things as well as have completely different career aspirations. I’m always being told how it’s not likely to get a well-paying job straight out of college by people everywhere, including my own mother. Though I do know and acknowledge the fact that not everybody get’s the job they want directly after graduation, I still try to remain hopeful. After all, for every percentage of people who fall under this unfortunate category, there’s also a percentage who fall under the category of people who are blessed enough to start their “dream job” right after turning their tassels. With that being said, I try to work as hard as I can in order to fall into the latter category. Even if I don’t specifically start my dream job after crossing that stage next May, starting a career that puts me on the pathway towards doing so will suffice.

Many people talk about the concept of post-graduate anxiety, but is pre-graduation anxiety a concept as well?- because it’s exactly what I am experiencing. After seeing so many posts from the Spring ’17 graduations these past few weeks, I couldn’t help but think about the fact that in approximately 365 days, that would be me, and I’m not sure if I’m anywhere near ready. Of course I’m excited- being my mother’s 3rd child but the first child afforded the opportunity to fully complete a bachelors program is a major accomplishment for me. However, my biggest fear is graduating and thinking “Now what?”.

One thought on “Junioritis

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

